CalenGoo's permissionsCalenGoo uses certain Android permissions to be able to access the Android calendar, your contacts (to display birthdays) and other things. You can find the used permissions under the "Permissions" tab in the Google Play Store. And you can find an official explanation what these permissions do on the Android website here:
In the following you can find a short description for which purpose CalenGoo needs these permissions:
Android permissions are a security feature of Android. An app can only use certain system functions if it requests the permission to use that function during the installation. Android has a number of permissions for this purpose. Here you can see which permissions CalenGoo requires to use which functions.
To be able to sync directly with Google Calendar and Google Tasks and to download icons for events, CalenGoo needs to access the Internet.
To display birthdays of your contacts and to link events to contacts, CalenGoo needs this permission.
- android.permission.READ_CALENDAR and android.permission.WRITE_CALENDAR:
CalenGoo can also sync with the Android calendar. Therefore it needs to be able to read from and write to it. This includes adding attendees to events. Attendees can get an invitation email from Google Calendar when they have been added to an event.
This also generates the warning "read calendar events plus confidential information add or modify calendar events and send email to guests without owners' knowledge" when the app is installed: CalenGoo can modify events in your Android calendar. And it can add attendees to these events. When the event is synced with Google Calendar, Google Calendar automatically sends invitation emails to these attendees. This way the attendees know that they were invited to an event and can respond with "Yes", "Maybe" or "No". It works in the same way as if you add attendees to events on http://calendar.google.com .
Now back to the warning in the permission: Theoretically CalenGoo could create an event and add attendees to it without your knowledge. Then these attendees would get an invitation email "without your knowledge or permission". That's what the warning is about. But CalenGoo certainly doesn't create any events by itself without your knowledge. And it certainly also doesn't add attendees by itself. It is just a theoretical warning.
CalenGoo can write backups to your SD card and it can also save its database on your SD card instead of in the internal memory to save space in the internal memory.
- android.permission.GET_ACCOUNTS and android.permission.READ_SYNC_SETTINGS:
This is used to trigger a sync for all available accounts, i.e. to sync your Android calendar with Google Calendar and other systems.
To vibrate the phone when a reminder is displayed.
To start CalenGoo after your phone has been booted so that it can display your reminders.
To support the function "Sync on Wi-Fi connect". This way CalenGoo can check if a Wi-Fi connection was established and then start the sync.
To check if you have a valid license for CalenGoo in Google Play.